Useless Observation Links

Topics relating to Advanced Driving in cars
Horse

Useless Observation Links

Postby Horse » Wed May 11, 2022 8:11 pm

Browsing 'advanced' stuff on another forum, there was a thread on observation links.

One of them was:

If all the handles on wheelie bins are pointing the same way, the collection crew have been.

I've been doing this stuff for 40+ years and not heard that one.

But then I wondered ...

... what benefit does noticing it provide for a driver?

I couldn't think of anything. Anyone have any ideas?

And any other near-useless observation ljnks?
Your 'standard' is how you drive alone, not how you drive during a test.

hir

Re: Useless Observation Links

Postby hir » Wed May 11, 2022 9:15 pm

Let’s think about this logically. If the bins have been emptied you should be on the lookout for a bin lorry further up the road, unless of course the bin lorry was going the other way and is now behind us. However, if the bins have not been emptied then we’re not going to encounter a bin lorry around the next corner, unless they haven’t been emptied because the bin lorry is on its way coming towards us.

The obvious conclusion to be drawn from this observation of an observation is don’t bother to waste time trying to analyse the unanalysable. :headbang: :lol:

Strangely Brown

Postby Strangely Brown » Thu May 12, 2022 5:48 am

Horse wrote:Browsing 'advanced' stuff on another forum, there was a thread on observation links.

One of them was:

If all the handles on wheelie bins are pointing the same way, the collection crew have been.?

That would be almost exactly wrong round here.

All the handles are pointing the same way (or at least the bins are reasonably neat) when the residents have first put the bins out. After the collection crew have been the bins are all over the place and it is not uncommon to have to walk up the road to get your own bin back.

Trebor

Postby Trebor » Thu May 12, 2022 6:03 am

Strangely Brown wrote: