Hello all

A good place to post when you join - it is a good idea to post here first so that people know something about you, and you will get a nice welcome.
StuBeeDoo

Hello all

Postby StuBeeDoo » Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:18 pm

I recently took the IAM course - I scraped a pass with some harsh (I thought..) criticism from the examiner :( Don't get me wrong, I don't think I'm a great driver - I know I'm not much better than average, but I have a desire to be better than I am. I did make some mistakes during the test, but I disagree with my examiner's opinion that I wasn't confident enough. He seemed to think that I should have been driving faster and overtaking slower traffic at points where I was unfamiliar with the roads and I didn't feel I had enough visible clear road. He also commented that my lack of confidence showed because I don't use my automatic in sport or manual mode. I thought I was doing a safer driving course, not a performance driving one. :roll: I'm sure that one point he mentioned where he thought I should have attempted an overtake, I couldn't have done it without breaking the speed limit. :o

Feeling somewhat disillusioned, and that I've wasted my wife's money (she bought the course as a gift for me), I've been trawling the 'net seeking other ways to become a safer driver. I came across the forum, and here I am.
Last edited by StuBeeDoo on Fri Mar 08, 2019 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Horse

Re: Hello all

Postby Horse » Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:28 pm

Good afternoon!

Interesting comments, and suggests a disconnect between how your Observers prepared you and what the Examiner expected.

Did you find any positives from the experience?
Your 'standard' is how you drive alone, not how you drive during a test.

StuBeeDoo

Postby StuBeeDoo » Fri Mar 08, 2019 5:16 pm

Horse wrote:............. suggests a disconnect between how your Observers prepared you and what the Examiner expected.