Greetings from the Shire...

A good place to post when you join - it is a good idea to post here first so that people know something about you, and you will get a nice welcome.
RiK

Greetings from the Shire...

Postby RiK » Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:59 am

Hi folks,

The name's Rich, and I live in a sleepy little village in Gloucestershire that makes hobbiton look like a bustling g metropolis.

I'm relatively new to the world of advanced driving having joined the Bristol AM group in the new year, though I've been driving (full bike license too) for over 30 years.

Many moons ago I was a techie nerd, worked as a general dogsbody (software developer) in the industrial automation field (i.e. I made robots brains) but about 15 years ago after a serious illness and bit of a near death experience i got out of the rat race to do my own thing. Never looked back :-)

Other than driving, my other interests are fairly diverse, I'm a photographer, a black belt, a keen musician and I've even been known to throw myself out of aeroplanes.

I guess that'll do for an intro. Looking forward to some healthy banter!
Richard Olpin: Bristol IAM: Training Officer, IAM: Masters (Dist), IMI National Observer, LOA. Gloucestershire Constabulary SC6240.

GTR1400MAN

Re: Greetings from the Shire...

Postby GTR1400MAN » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:17 am

Hi RiK

Welcome to the ADH.

Have you done your Advanced on the bike as well as in the car?
Mike Roberts - Now riding a Triumph Explorer XRT. My username comes from my 50K miles on a Kawasaki 1400GTR, after many years on Hondas of various shapes and styles. - https://tinyurl.com/mikerobertsonyoutube

akirk

Postby akirk » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:45 am

Welcome Rich,
look forward to your involvement

Alasdair

Horse

Postby Horse » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:11 am

Hello!
Your 'standard' is how you drive alone, not how you drive during a test.

martine

Postby martine » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:20 am

Howdy.

Out of interest, what do you drive/ride?